RSS Feed

Sexy Little Nectarine Tart: From Family Feast Day

Posted on

IMG_2846 Just to repeat the story in case you missed it from Family Day Feast: When I was a kid my family used to go on the odd holiday to Menorca and those holidays were all about the BBQ’s one of the recipes my mum picked up around this time was Nectarines poached in wine and cinnamon – I can honestly say the combination of Nectarines and cinnamon is just heaven and the aromas when they cook are a heady floral combination. Nectarines are full of Vit C, Beta Carotene and Lutein a super antioxidant cancer preventor! I’ve talked about Cinnamon before but in case you forgot here’s the sweet & low… it regulates blood sugar levels, is anti inflammatory so helps with joint pain related to arthritis, helps aleviate menstrual pain and balance hormones.

With all this in mind I came up with this Sexy Little Nectarine Tart, served with Coconut Cream:
IMG_2862

Ingredients:

For the Topping:

6 unripe Nectarines
200g of (juicy) Dried Dates
2 inches of a  whole Vanilla Pod, snip with scissors
3 tsp Cinnamon
Splash of Water
Juice of 1/2 a Lemon
1 Tblsp Coconut Oil

For the Base:

200g Ground Almonds
50g Cashew Nuts
50g Pecan Nuts
100g of Coconut Flour
2 Tblsp Coconut Oil
60g Goat Butter
1 desert spoon of mild Honey
Pinch of Salt

Glaze for the Topping:

1 oz Goat butter melted,
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Ground Ginger
1 tsp honey

Pre-heat the oven 150’C

Method:

1) I Started with the topping: I Scored the Nectarines (four lines top to bottom), put them in a pan with the Coconut oil, Lemon Juice, a splash of water and 2 teaspoons of the Cinnamon; put the lid on and over a medium heat brought them up to a boil and then turned the heat down and allowed them to simmer for about 20 minutes, turning the Nectarines occasionally so they cooked evenly.  I wanted them to soften slightly but also retain their shape.

IMG_2713

IMG_2721

* I pulled the Nectarines out at this stage and put them aside to cool, leaving the nectarine juices left in the pan.

2) Next I did the base: I put the Cashews and the Pecans in the food processor and blitzed until fairly fine, then I added the Grounds Almonds, Coconut Flour, Goat Butter, Coconut Oil, Honey and salt – and gave that little lot a quick blitz to bring it all together to make a kind of dough.

IMG_2743

3) I lined a flan tin and gave it a little grease up (coconut oil) for good measure! See how I used two pieces of greaseproof paper and separated the central circular disk below.

IMG_2746 IMG_2747

Then I put 3/4’s of the dough on the lined circular disk, laid another sheet of greaseproof paper over the top and used a rolling pin to roll it out and get a smooth bottom:

IMG_2748 IMG_2750

Once I had nearly a full circle I placed the circular disk bottom on top of the lined flan tin (the bit with the hole).

IMG_2753 IMG_2754

Then I added the remaining dough and used my hands to push the dough into the crevices.

IMG_2755

Before I put it in the oven I pricked it a few times with a fork.

4) I then put it in the oven – now full disclosure here I put it in for too long at this stage – I put it in for 12 minutes – really it only needs about 6-8 minutes – because it is going to cook again with the topping.  It just needs a little bit of colour but not as much as mine below.  The reason I felt it was too long was the base was the tiniest bit dry in the end result – however it tasted great and the coconut cream made it sing! In fact this is a desert you can make easily a day or two before you plan to serve it, just keep it in the fridge – it’s a knock out!

IMG_2762 IMG_2757

5) Next up I added the Dates to the pan with the left over Nectarine juices and snipped in the 2 inches of the Vanilla pod and a splash of water over a low heat, brought the pan up to a simmer and gently cooked until the Dates and the pod had softened – about 10 mins. Then I let it cool.

IMG_2727

IMG_2726

6) I Slice the cooled Nectarines into segments like this:

IMG_2724 IMG_2732

7) I blitzed the Date Mixture, pod and all, along with a few slices of Nectarine (no more than half of a Nectarine) with 1 teaspoon of Cinnamon. I urge you to taste this mixture – just sensational! 🙂

IMG_2734

IMG_2736

8) I spread this mixture onto my cooled/semi cooked base.

IMG_2764 IMG_2766

9) I then added the sliced Nectarines to make a nice pattern on top:

IMG_2768

10) For the Glaze: I melted the Goat butter with the Cinnamon, Ginger and Honey, took less than a minute to melt together. Then I brushed it over the nectarines:

IMG_2769  IMG_2770

11) Finally I put the whole thing back in the oven for about 15 minutes.

12) Out the oven I allowed it to cool completely before removing it from the pan and chilling it in the fridge.
IMG_2847 IMG_2846 IMG_2848
Coconut Cream: You can serve it as a pouring cream – it is nice to chill it down before serving though. For a thicker cream: pick up a can of coconut milk (or actual coconut cream) that is free from any nasties like preservatives – you know the deal natural as possible. Put the can in the fridge for at least an hour. Then spoon off the top more solid stuff at the top and put it in a bowl (left over runnier bit can be put into a smoothie or used for Quinoa breakfast).  My hand whisk efforts were poor but with an electric whisk you can get a better thicker consistency.  This is just a lighter option to the classic dairy cream options and of course much easier to digest. Num, num num! 😉

IMG_2857
2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Family Feast Day | Bella's Freestyle Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Use Your Loaf! Part one… | Bella's Freestyle Kitchen

Leave a Reply

